National Squad - Men

The GolfRSA National Squad has been funded by businessman Johann Rupert and one of the main objectives is to ensure that our best players are groomed to represent South Africa in international competition and are fully prepared for life in the paid ranks, should they opt to turn professional.

The National Squad is made up of some of the most talented and promising young amateurs in South African golf, with a good mix of players from the top of the open and junior amateur rankings, and promising youngsters.

“We believe that by encouraging the players to stay amateur for a little longer, we can provide them with the best preparation for life as a professional golfer,” explains GolfRSA CEO Grant Hepburn. “And that’s where the National Squad comes in. Thanks to the generosity of Mr Rupert, we are able to provide funding, support, advice, training camps and, ultimately, playing opportunities for the best of South Africa’s young golfing talent.”

The National Squad provides a valuable platform for talented golfers to further develop their skills and showcase them through competition, locally and on the world stage.

GolfRSA National Squad Members 2019

NameHome ClubDate of Birth
Amilkar BhanaCountry Club Johannesburg12/10/2004
Carl MwaleEagle Canyon15/4/2002
Casey JarvisState Mines Country Club28/7/2003
Christiaan BurkeBloemfontein Golf Club29/09/2000
Christiaan MaasPretoria Country Club19/03/2003
Christo LamprechtPinnacle Point Golf Club30/1/2001
Cole StevensParkview Golf Club11/7/2001
Jayden SchaperEbotse Golf Club15/3/2001
Jordan DuminyPinnacle Point Golf Club29/10/2002
Jovan RebulaGeorge Golf Club22/7/1997
Kian RoseRoyal JHB & Kensington GC24/03/2002
Kieran van WykRuimsig Country Club15/1/2002
Kyle de BeerPort Elizabeth Golf Club26/5/1998
Luca FilippiMilnerton Golf Club19/4/1999
Martin VorsterPinnacle Point Golf Club22/1/2002
Nash de KlerkPecanwood Golf & CC31/12/2003
Samuel SimpsonBellville Golf Club20/05/2002
Therion NelBloemfontein Golf Club17/11/1997
Tyran SnydersDurbanville Golf Club23/6/2001
Yurav PremlallGlendower Golf Club17/6/2003