World’s young stars to take Adelaide by storm

The best amateur golfers in the world will descend on Adelaide as the 50 year anniversary of the World Amateur Teams Championships ignites the city in October.

Boasting a new milestone of 126 teams, these championships will be a sight to be seen in Adelaide, played on two of Australia’s premier golf courses.

A record 54 women’s teams will fight for the prestigious Espirito Santo Trophy while 72 men’s teams battle it out for the coveted Eisenhower Trophy.

Defending men’s champions the Netherlands have their sights set on victory as will the current women’s title holders South Africa.

With an amazing 52 nations competing in both the men’s and women’s championships, competition will be fierce and no doubt deliver an exciting international flavour showcasing outstanding amateur golfers from every continent.

Golf Australia Chairman and interim CEO Anne Lenagan said “The level of support from around the world for these championships in Adelaide is overwhelming.”

“This is a wonderful opportunity to watch the world’s best amateur golfers; these championships have a reputation for producing major international players.”

Tiger Woods, Aaron Baddeley and Sergio Garcia all competed in the Eisenhower Trophy during their amateur careers as did current women’s world number one Lorena Ochoa, Annika Sorenstam and Karrie Webb in the Espirito Santo.

The championships’ 50 year anniversary coincides with Australia’s victory in the inaugural Eisenhower Trophy at St.Andrews and is the 30 year anniversary of Australia’s first win in the Espirito Santo in Fiji.

It will be the second time Australia has hosted the event since Royal Melbourne in 1968.

The 2008 championships will be held from 8-19 October at The Grange Golf Club’s East and West courses and at The Royal Adelaide Golf Club.

For more information go to

Posted in