Teams selected to represent SA

The South African Golf Association recently selected the following teams to represent South Africa:
The South African Golf Association recently named two players (Charl Coetzee and Louis Moolman) to represent South Africa at the upcoming Tailhade Cup to be played at the Los Lagartos Country Club in December this year.

Charl Coetzee, who represented SA at this event last year, has been rewarded for his consistency by being selected for this event along with his selection to the Zone VI and Southern Cup teams in 2005.

Louis Moolman, who represented SA at the Nick Faldo International Series in Hong Kong at the beginning of the year as well as at the 2005 Zone VI, will accompany Charl.

SOUTHERN CROSS CUP: Royal Canberra GC, Canberra, ACT Australia – 19-21 October 2005
The team is to play in the biennial tournament against Australia, New Zealand and Argentina. The event was won by New Zealand at Humewood GC in 2003.The event is for teams of four playing matchplay – foursomes and singles on a round-robin basis.

Rossouw Loubser (Captain) Gauteng North
Charl Coetzee Western Province
Justin Harding Boland
Dawie van der Walt Boland
Manager : Dr Neels Steyn
Delegate : Mr Bruce Younge

THE SPIRIT INTERNATIONAL : Whispering Pines GC, Houston, Texas, USA – 9-15 October 2005
This tournament is a biennial invitational event conducted by the World Health and Golf Association a non-profit charitable organization dedicated to promoting amateur golf for the benefit of charity. Invitations are sent to the top 20 teams from the World Amateur Teams Championship held in Puerto Rico in 2004. The format of play is 72 holes of better-ball competition by teams consisting of 2 men and 2 women golfers – combined teams, men’s, women’s and individual men and women competitions are conducted. The 2003 Championships were won by USA (combined, men and women) and the respective men and women individual winners were Chinarat Padungsil (Thailand) and Paula Creamer (USA)

George Coetzee Gauteng North
Josh Cunliffe Central Gauteng
Ashleigh Simon Central Gauteng (already announced by WGSA)
Kelli Sheane Western Province (already announced by WGSA)
Manager : Mrs. Caroline Kettlewell

Africa Amateur Golf Teams Championship – Kampala, Uganda – 24-25 October 2005

UGANDA OPEN – Kampala, Uganda – 27-30 October 2005

AAGTC – 72 holes stroke play (36 holes per day) with the three lowest scores in each round to count.
UGANDA OPEN – 72 holes strokeplay (18 holes per day)
Norman Raad (Captain) Central Gauteng
Jonathan Bethwaite Central Gauteng
Christiaan Basson Western Province
Toto Thimba Gauteng North
The following players have been selected to play in the Uganda Open and travel with the team – no colours will be awarded –
Alpheus Kelapile
Reginald Adams


Posted in