South Africa Drop Back


The South African team of Tyrone Ferreira and Louis de Jager dropped three positions to 10th place at the end of the second round of international team competition in the 36th annual Copa Juan Carlos Tailhade Amateur Stroke Play tournament taking place at the Los Lagartos Country Club in Buenos Aires.

The Australian team of Rohan Blizard and Tim Steward retained their overnight lead, with a three under par total of 281, five shots clear of Peru. The New Zealand team, who were lying second at the end of the first round, struggled to a 149, eight over par, today to drop back to ten shots off the pace.

South Africa recorded a second round of 151, nine over par, made up of a 73, from Tyrone Ferreira, and 78, from Louis de Jager. This gave them a 36 hole total of 295, eleven over par, which they share with the team from Holland.

In the individual competition, 23 year old Australian Rohan Blizard is well clear of the field. He added a round of 70, one under par, today to that of his course record equaling 63 first round score putting him on 133, nine under par and eight shots clear of his nearest rivals.

Tyrone Ferreira was the best performing South African, he now lies in 7th position, with rounds of 70 and 73, to be one over par on 143. Louis de Jager is well back in 39th position on 152.

Two other South African participating in the individual competition did not make the cut, set at 154, they were Ruan Botha, who finished on the cut score, recording a second round score of 77, and Johan du Buisson. Du Buisson had a bruising round of 81 to finish on 155.

The third round is being played today.

Second Round Results:

Venue: Los Lagartos C.C., Buenos Aires, Argentina (Par 71)

Individual Standings:

133 Rohan Blizard (AUS) (63, 70)
141 Mathieu Rivard (CAN) (71,70), Esteban Martinez (ARG) (71,70), Bernardo Bide (ARG) (66,75), Justin Roach (AUS) (66,75)
142 Alfredo Baertl (PERU) (70,72)
143 Chris Wood (ENG) (71,72), Kevin Smith (NZL) 71,72), Tyrone Ferreira (RSA) (70,73)
144 Patricio Salem (PERU) (75,69), Carlos Ernesto Rodriguez M (COL) (72,72), Pablo Lozada (ARG) (70,74), Juan Francisco Sarasti (ESP) (68,76)

Other Scores:

152 Louis de Jager (RSA) (74,78)

Missed Cut (applicable to individuals not in an international team):

154 Ruan Botha (RSA) (77, 77)
155 Johan du Buisson (RSA) (74,81)

International Team Competition:

Leading Scores

281 (-3)) Australia (138, 143) (Rohan Blizard 63, 70, Tim Stewart 75, 73)
286 (+2) Peru (145, 141) (Alfredo Baertl 70,72, Patricio Salem 75,69)
288 (+4) England (143, 145) (Chris Wood 71,72, Sam Hutsby 72,73)
290 (+6) Canada (149,141) (Mathieu Rivard 71,70, Michael Knight 78,71)
291 (+7) United States (147, 144) (Rob Couture 73,72, Charles Alan Clark 74,72), Argentina (144,147) (Esteban Martinez 71,70, Julian Etulain 73,77), New Zealand (142,149) (Kevin Smith 71,72, Andrew Searle 71,77)
292 (+8) Spain (142, 150) (Juan Francisco Sarasti 68,76, Borja Etchart 74,74)
294 (+10) Colombia (144, 150) (Carlos Rodriguez M 72, 72, Edgar Gomez Moreno 72,78)
295 (+11) Holland (Floris de Vries 74,72, Robin Kind 73, 76), South Africa (144, 151) (Tyrone Ferreira 70,73, Louis de Jager 74,78)

For further information please contact:

Bruce Younge (SAGA Executive Director) Cell: 082 574 3455

Written and distributed by:

Nic Lanham Cell: 082 990 6067 e-mail:

Posted in