Sherratt wins; Claassen best of SA players

JG Claassen, again the best performing South African in the championshipJordan Sherratt, the 21 year old South Australia, won the 72 hole stroke play NEC Master of the Amateurs Championship after a playoff against Bud Cauley of the United States. Both players finished on 284, four under par.

Sherratt, saw his comfortable cushion of five shots over Cauley whittled away by the tenacious American. The Australian recorded a final round of 74, two over par, while Cauley recorded a 69, three under par.

Only one playoff hole was required to decide the championship. Cauley hit his tee shot into a fairway bunker giving the advantage to his opponent who exploited it to the full.

Playing at the Yarra Yarra Golf Club, in Melbourne, Australia, the South African pairing of JG Claassen and Leon Knoll were disappointing in their performances.

Although Claassen’s 73, one over par, was his best round of the tournament he finished with an aggregate of 302, fourteen over par, and a share of twenty fifth place.

Leon Knoll’s final round was much improved on the previous round, 75, six shots better. He finished with a total of 312, twenty four over par, and down in thirty third place.

The host nation won the NEC Master of the Amateurs World Cup, in which teams of two players from the same country compete, having led from day one. The team comprising the newly crowned champion and Matt Jager (70) recorded a final round of 144 giving them a 72 hole total of 571, five under par. The United States team made up of runner up and Morgan Hoffmann (71), recorded the best round of the day 140, edged closer to the eventual winners but not enough. The United States finished on 575.

South Africa recorded a final round team score of 148, four over par, and remained in sixth place.

NEC Master of the Amateurs Championship

Venue: Yarra Yarra Golf Club, Melbourne, Australia

Par: 72 (72 holes: 288)

Final Scores :

284 – Jordan Sherratt (AUS) (66,74,70,74) (Won on the first play off hole), Bud Cauley (USA) (76,65,74,69)

286 – Kieran Pratt (AUS) (67,72,73,74)

287 – Matt Jager (AUS) (72,70,72,76)

290 – Victor Dubuisson (FRA) (72,70,72,76), Matt Haines (ENG) (72,73,75,70)

291 – Daniel Beckman (AUS) (73,71,79,68), Ben Campbell (NZL) (78,69,71,73), Morgan Hoffmann (USA) (73,73,74,71)

294 – Ryan McCarthy (AUS) (72,72,77,73)

South African players’ scores:

302 – JG Claassen (76,79,74,73)

312 – Leon Knoll (73,83,81,75)

NEC Master of the Amateurs World Cup

Par: 144 (72 holes: 576)

Final Round Leaders:

571 – Australia (140,146,141,144) (Matt Jager (74,72,71,70); Jordan Sherratt (66,74,70,74))

575 – United States (149,138,148,140) (Morgan Hoffmann (73,73,74,71); Bud Cauley (76,65,74,69))

586 – England (155,144,146,141) (Matt Haines (72,73,75,70); Tommy Fleetwood (83,71,71,71))

594 – New Zealand (150,141,148,155) (Ryan Fox (75,71,73,79); Andrew Stewart (75,70,75,76))

610 – Europe (148,145,160,157) (Victor Dubuisson (FRA) (72,70,72,76), Alexander Kleszcz (POL) (76,75,88,81)

614 – South Africa (149,162,155,148) (JG Claassen (76,79,74,73); Leon Knoll (73,83,81,75))

Posted in