SA win Zone VI

Jake Redman recorded the biggest singles win of the South AfricansSouth Africa won the 2009 Zone VI International Amateur Golf Team competition after scoring 6, out of a possible 8 points, from their 8 singles matches played during today’s final round at Chapman Golf Club, Harare.

This meant that South Africa successfully defended their title, amassing a total of 20½ points out of a possible 24 points. Today’s results enabled them to extend their overnight lead, to 4½ points, over host nation Zimbabwe.

In all ten nations from the southern part of the African continent participated in this annual 8-man-team event.

All but two South Africans won their singles matches today, most in dominant fashion.

The surprise result was JG Claassen losing 1 down to the more experienced N Umerji of Zimbabwe. The 18 year North West Province player, and winner of the Zimbabwe Amateur Golf Championship last week, was firm favourite to win his match. He played his final round in two under but failed to reproduce the fine form he produced earlier in the week. His Zimbabwean opponent not only raised his game but also capitalised on, what could be described as, a ‘struggling’ Claassen to record, what must have been for him, a memorable victory.

Yubin Jung struggled through his round today as well, also losing his match 1 down. The 17 year old Wanderers Golf Club member needed to win the last hole to take the match. He watched his opponent, Robert Shiba, of Swaziland, putt from off the green into the hole to record an eagle. Jung needed his putt for an eagle to halve the hole. It lipped out and he lost not only the hole but also the match.

Of the other countries participating, Swaziland fared as well as the South African team in the singles, also collecting 6 points. They moved up one place on the final points table finishing 4th place overall with 14 points.

Final Round Results

South African scores:
(South African players’ names listed first in each match)
Johan Bekker beat Paulo Mabica (Mocambique) 8 and 6;
JG Claassen lost to N Umerji (Zimbabwe) 1 down;
Coenie Bester beat Hesbon Kutwa (Kenya) 5 and 4;
Trevor Mahoney beat Dikgang Lemogang (Botswana) 3 and 2;
Yubin Jung lost to Robert Shiba (Swaziland) 1 down;
Loen Knoll beat Katelwa Mushirwe (Zambia) 4 and 3;
Jake Redman beat George Sembhi (Tanzania) 9 and 8;
Derik Ferreira beat Antonio Tcheco (Mocambique) 3 and 1.

Final Points Table:
20½ – South Africa
16 – Zimbabwe
15 – Kenya
14 – Swaziland
13½ – Botswana
12 – Zambia
11 – Namibia
9 – Malawi
7 – Tanzania
2 – Mocambique

Posted in