SA trio sweeps to 14th AACT victory in Ghana

South African High Commissioner in Ghana, Lulama Xingwana, presents Team South Africa with the All-Africa Challenge Trophy at Achimota Golf Club; credit GolfRSA.

1 September 2018 – South African trio Zethu Myeki, Casandra Hall and Lenanda van der Watt swept to a record 13th victory for the country in the 13th edition of the All-Africa Challenge Trophy (AACT) in Accra, Ghana on Friday.

The international field in the biennial showpiece, supported by the R&A, were severely tested by windy conditions and a tough course set-up at the Achimota Golf Club on the final day, but Hall and Myeki ensured a 14-shot victory with a final round total of 161.

Reigning Sanlam SA Women’s Stroke Play champion Hall from Ekurhuleni posted five-over-par 77 and GolfRSA Elite Squad Player Myeki from Gauteng carded 85, while Van der Watt from Gauteng North returned a non-counting 87.

The South African team triumphed on a 72-hole total score of 469.

Tanzania’s Madina Hussein, who defeated Myeki in a play-off for the Individual honours after the pair tied on 237, led the way for Tanzania, who finished second on 483.

Kenya was third on 487, Uganda took fourth on 493, while Zimbabwe edged out the host nation to finish in fifth place on 499.

Ernie Els and Fancourt Foundation Myeki starred for South Africa in the 2016 AACT in Tunisia and the All-Africa Regional Trophy in Lesotho last year, while Hall and two-time SA Women’s Long Drive champion Van der Watt both made their national debut in Ghana.

The rookies were delighted to return home with South Africa’s winning record intact.

Casandra Hall, Zethu Myeki and Lenanda van der Watt celebrated a successful title defence with a 14-shot victory in the 14th All Africa Challenge Trophy at the Achimota Golf Club in Ghana; credit GolfRSA.

“The course was incredibly tight and really challenging and the rough was brutal and a real test of accuracy and patience,” said Hall. “It was an incredible learning experience for every player in the field, who had to push hard and dig deep to give their best. We had an incredible time in Ghana and we are so happy to bring to trophy home.”

Two-time SA Women’s Long Drive champion Van der Watt added: “We were very excited when we arrived, but we did feel the pressure of having to defend the title and keeping South Africa’s winning record alive. We all contributed to the success and we achieved our goal with a great team effort.”

Myeki was impressed with the standard on golf on display in Ghana.

“We played against some incredibly talented golfers this week and it’s fantastic to have a tournament of this calibre where everyone can learn from the experience,” said the Ernie Els and Fancourt Foundation member.

“We want to congratulate the Ghana Golf Association, all the sponsors and the volunteers for hosting a very successful championship. We really enjoyed meeting the players from the other nations, and the hospitality was out of this world.

“We would also like to thank GolfRSA and Womens Golf South Africa for giving us this incredible opportunity to represent South Africa and we are so pleased that we could repay their trust and belief in us with this victory.”

Final Result
469 South Africa 150 158 161
483 Tanzania 163 160 160
487 Kenya 169 155 163
493 Uganda 169 157 167
499 Zimbabwe 167 170 162
511 Ghana 167 173 171
518 Senegal 168 167 183
519 Zambia 181 170 168
525 Nigeria 177 176 172
549 Namibia 182 187 180
571 Cameroon 198 188 185
577 Ivory Coast 193 185 199
589 Gabon 194 196 199
603 Rwanda 214 203 206
625 Togo 200 208 217
643 Mali 212 212 219
653 Burkina Faso 212 218 223

Individual Result (Top 15)
237 Madina Hussein 81 78 78 (won play-off)
237 Zethu Myeki 76 76 85
242 Casandra Hall 74 89 79
244 Josephine Ainley 84 78 82
245 Sarah Khanyereri 85 79 71
248 Hawa Wanyeche 82 82 84; Evah Magala 86 78 84; Batsirai Tilowakuti 82 85 81
249 Joyce Njuguini 86 77 86; Irene Nakalembe 86 79 84; Angel Robinson 83 84 82
251 Lenanda van der Watt 82 82 87; Dannielle Bekker 85 85 81
254 Sene Daba 81 83 90; Martha Babirye 83 88 83

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of GolfRSA.