SA take a nine shot lead in Cairo

Yubin Jung, co leader after 36 holes in the individual competitionSouth Africa moved nine shots clear after the second round of the 72 hole stroke play African Amateur Golf Team Championships being played at Dreamland Golf Club, Cairo, Eygpt on Wednesday.

It was a fitting birthday present for South African Golf Association President and team manager, Enver Hassen; “Moving nine shots clear is exactly what I was looking for!”

Thirteen African golf playing nations are competing in this annual event in teams of four players, the best three scores each round counting.

JG Claassen recorded the best round of the day, amongst the South Africans. The other two scores, of the South African team counting, were those of Yubin Jung (71) and Jake Redman (71).

The defending champions recorded a second round team score of 212, four under par, which gave the South Africans a 36 hole aggregate of 426, six under par.

Kenya follows on 435 and Uganda a further eight shots back.

In the individual competition, Jubin Yung shares the halfway lead with Scott Vincent (68) of Zimbabwe, 140, four under par. JG Claassen is one shot off the pace.

Best round of the day was a five under par 67 recorded by Vincent Byamukama of Uganda, ten shots better than his first round score. He is now four shots off the pace.

The third round is being played on Thursday. The final round will be played on Friday.

Leaders after the second round in African Amateur Golf Team Championship

Dreamland Golf Club, Cairo. Par 72 (Team Competition par: 216; For 36 holes: 432)

(In brackets are the players whose scores counted in the second round)

426 – South Africa (214,212) (JG Claassen (70), Yubin Jung (71), Jake Redman (71)

435 – Kenya (212,223) (Borniface Simwa (72), Kimani Mbacio (77), Sullivan Muthugia (74))

443 – Uganda (225,219) (Vincent Byamukama (67), Emmanuel Opio (75), Ian Odokonyero (76))

448 – Zimbabwe (226,222) (Scott Vincent (68), Roger Jack (77), Trynos Muradzikwa (77)), Botswana (221,227) (Stuart Smith (75), Phenyo Lekgoa (74), Diane Lucas (78))

Leaders after the second round in the individual competition

140 – Scott Vincent (ZIM) (72,68), Yubin Jung (RSA) (69,71)

141 – JG Claassen (RSA) (71,70), Borniface Simwa (KEN) (69,72)

144 – Vincent Byamukama (UGA) (77,67)

145 – Jake Redman (RSA) (74,71), Francois Hanekom (NAM) (72,73)

South African players’ scores:

150 – Trevor Mahoney (74,76)

Posted in