SA off the pace; 2nd round suspended due to rain

Los Largotos Country Club, awash with waterThe second round of the Juan Carlos Tailhade Cup, an international amateur golf tournament being played at Los Largotos Country Club outside Buenos Aires, Argentina, was suspended due to heavy rain. The round will be completed today (Saturday), thereafter there will be a cut and the third round will commence this afternoon.

Four players are leading, after the first round, they are Emiliano Grillo (Argentina), Jose Maria Joia (Portugal), Tom Fleetwood (England) and Carlos Pigem (Spain) are leading with four under par rounds of 67.

Three shots off the pace is South African Ryan Dreyer (70), the current Glacier SA Amateur Champion. The 37 year old Killarney Golf Club member from Central Gauteng recorded three birdies and two bogeys in his round of one under par.

Four shots further back is 18 year old JG Claassen (74), from Orkney Golf Club in the North West Province. He also recorded three birdies however he had a double bogey, on the par 5 second hole, and four bogeys.

In the international team competition, in which teams comprise two players, both scores counting in each round, the England pairing of Thomas Fleetwood (67) and Edward Pepperell (68) are leading on 135, seven under par.

Spain is a further two shots back in second place.

The South African pairing of Ryan Dreyer and JG Claassen are down in ninth place on 144, two over par.

There are nineteen countries represented in the team competition.

Juan Carlos Tailhade Cup

Los Largotos Golf Club (par 71)

Leading scores from the first round

67 – Emiliano Grillo (ARG), Jose Maria Joia (POR), Tom Fleetwood (ENG), Carlos Pigem (ESP)

68 – Romain Wattel (FRA), Salem Patricio (PERU), Edward Pepperell (ENG), Sebastian Prado (ARG), Armando Zarlenga (ARG)

69 – Bryden Macpherson (AUS)

South African Scores:

70 – Ryan Dreyer

74 – JG Claassen.

International Team Competition

(Par 142)

Leaders after first round

135 – England (Tom Fleetwood 67, Edward Pepperell 68)

137 – Spain (Carlos Pigem 67, Juan Francisco Sarasti 70)

138 – Argentina (Armando Zarlenga 68, Tomas Cocha 70)

139 – Portugal (Jose Maria Joia 67, Tiago Rodrigues 72)

140 – Peru (Patricio Salem 68, Rafael Claux 72)

141 – Norway (Elias Bertheussen 70, Anders Kristiansen 71)

142 – Venezuela (Robert de Biase 70, Jose Daniel Ortega 72)

143 – France (Romain Wattel 68, Johann Lopez Lazaro 75)

144 – South Africa (Ryan Dreyer 70, JG Claassen 74)

145 – Australia (Bryden Macpherson 69, Daniel Beckmann 76)

Posted in