SA golf celebrates Denis Hutchinson

Nikhil Rama, SAGDB member Kael Strydom, Ivanna Samu and Gregory Jacobs with Denis Hutchinson at the prizegiving of the Denis Hutchinson Challenge at Royal Johannesburg and Kensington Golf Club on Sunday. Credit: Tyrone Winfield

26 January 2023 – GolfRSA National Squad & South African Golf Development Board members joined professionals from the Sunshine Tour, Sunshine Ladies Tour & PGA of South Africa to celebrate the incredible contribution of SA golfing great Denis Hutchinson has made to the game this January.

The annual Denis Hutchinson Challenge was hosted once again by Hutchie’s home club, Royal Johannesburg & Kensington Golf Club, and the team competition was contested on the West Course.

Hutchinson had multiple victories on the Sunshine Tour and DP World Tour in his playing career, including famously being the last amateur to have won the Investec South African Open Championship in 1959. Amongst his many accolades, Hutchinson has been recognised with Lifetime Membership of the Sunshine Tour and as Honorary Life President of the PGA of South Africa.

In addition to entertaining golf fans for years with his colourful commentary on the DP World Tour and Sunshine Tour, Hutchinson has been recognised with Lifetime Membership of the Sunshine Tour and as Honorary Life President of the PGA of South Africa – amongst his many accolades.

“Hutchy has been such a wonderful ambassador for South African golf for decades now, both as a player who competed with some of the greats of the game, and then as a commentator who became known as ‘The Voice of Golf’. It’s an honour for all of us in the family of South African golf to come together on a day such as this and take the time to recognise the immense contribution he has made to the game we all love,” said Thomas Abt, Commissioner of the Sunshine Tour and Sunshine Ladies Tour.

National Squad players Yurav Premlall, Jaden Deltel, Zinan Maimane and Janko van der Merwe represented GolfRSA while Kael Strydom, Eric Ncube, Jayden Hoskins, Tawriq Abrahams, Rezario Adams teed it for the SAGDB.

Central Gauteng’s Kael Strydom finished in the winning team of Sunshine Ladies Tour player Ivanna Samu, Sunshine Tour member Nikhil Rama, and PGA of South Africa professional Gregory Jacobs, who took top honours with 89 points on the West Course.

GolfRSA CEO and SAGDB Managing Director Grant Hepburn added: “We are honoured to have our young rising stars partake in this celebration of one of our golfing greats. Not only could they learn from the professionals, but Hutchie has a world of experience which he is eager to impart, and this opportunity for our youngsters to spend time with him was priceless.”