Rundle College impress at SA High School Champs

A superb opening round from Kingswood golfer Cameron Moralee helped newcomers Rundle College to a share of the lead in the fourth edition of the SA High School Championship on Sunday.

The 17-year-old’s opening seven-under-par 65 at Bloemfontein Golf Club boosted the Southern Cape team to joint first with KwaZulu-Natal’s Hilton College on five over 221.

Team mates Caylum Boon and Allan Lones both carded rounds of 78, while Hayden Garcia contributed a non-counting 80.

“Rundle College was only launched last year out of KeNako Academy and it was quite important for us to make a solid start in our debut at the SA High School Championship,” said the team’s manager, former professional turned coach, Roger Wessels

“Cameron reeled in eight birdies to offset a lone bogey to anchor the side and give us the momentum to tie for the lead.

“Caylum, Allan and Hayden were disappointed with their efforts, however, the team only played nine holes in the practice round. They struggled a little on nine they played blind, but now that everyone has played the full course, I expect them to rally in the second round.”

Meanwhile Keagon Thomas set the pace for Hilton with an opening 70.

Thomas was supported by Guy Waterhouse, who carded a 73, and Rourke Lauryssen, who returned a 78.

Hennie O’Kennedy (72), Eduard de Villiers (73) and reigning Nomads SA Boys U-15 champion, Herman Loubser (77) from Paarl Boys High combined for 222 to finish third, while local favourites Grey College finished just two shots off the pace.

Attie van Wyk led the side with a 71, while Ruan Pretorius posted a 76 and club champion Therion Nel added a 76 to their total of 223.

Glenwood House from the Southern Cape finished in fifth on 224, while the Western Province’s Reddam House Constantia share sixth on 225 alongside Tuks Sport High School.

The inaugural champions lag just four shots off the pace after Marco Steyn (72), Albert Venter (74) and Sentanio Minnie (79) combined for a 225.

Moralee’s sizzling effort took him to the top in the Individual Competition.

Luke Woods from Reddam House Constantia carded a 69 to finish in second, one shot ahead of KwaZulu-Natal’s Thomas and two clear of Van Wyk from Free State.

First Round Teams Scores

(Best 3 scores of 4 to count)

221 – Rundle College (Cameron Moralee 65, Caylum Boon 78, Allan Lones 78)
221 – Hilton College (Keagan Thomas 70, Guy Waterhouse 73, Rourke Lauryssen 78)
222 – Paarl Boys High (Hennie O’Kennedy 72, Eduard de Villiers 73, Herman Loubser 77)
223 – Grey College (Attie van Wyk 71, Ruan Pretorius 76, Therion Nel 76)
224 – Glenwood House (Alex van Wyk 72, James Pennington 74, Bradley de Beer 78)
225 – Reddam House Constantia (Luke Woods 69, Henry Anderson 77, Noel Anderson 79)
225 – Tuks Sport High School (Marco Steyn 72, Albert Venter 74, Sentanio Minnie 79)
227 – Pretoria Boys (Shane Mclachlan 74, Nicholaus Frade 76, Keegan Mclachlan 77)
227 – Michael House (Louis Albertse 72, Matt Saulez 74, Chad Fourie 81)
227 – Curro Aurora (Ivanna Samu 73, Julian Samu 75, Keelan van Wyk 79)
229 – Paarl Gimnasium (Hendrik van der Merwe 74, Duncan van der Vyver 76, Bianca Lohbauer 79)
230 – Hoerskool Ben Viljoen (Daniel van Wyk 76, Jan Hendrik Jacobs 77, Nicklas van Wyk 77)
230 – Fairmont High School (Tristan Hamilton 73, Connor de Groote 76, Daniel Albutt 81)
240 – St Stithians Boys’ College (Emilio Pera 79, Keanu Pestana 80, Alex Vos 81)
243 – Hoer Volkskool (Philip Niemand 74, Christiaan Burke 84, Johann Burke 85)
248 – DF Malherbe (JG Smith 78, R Peters 80, Mieke de Ridder 90)
248 – H/S Secunda (Andre van Heerden 80, Lee Morrison 83, Henco Botha 85)
251 – Hudson Park HS (Demi Flanagan 82, Byron Toogood 82, Tristan Naude 87)
254 – Goudveld Hoerskool (Leon van der Walt 77, Edward Norton 87, Jan van der Walt 90)
258 – HTS Middleburg (Junior Fourie 82, Stian van Aswegen 86, Zandré Storm 90)

First Round Individual Scores (top 10)
65 – Cameron Moralee
69 – Luke Woods
70 – Keagan Thomas
71 – Attie van Wyk
72 – Alex van Wyk, Louis Albertse, Marco Steyn, Hennie O’Kennedy
73 – Eduard de Villiers, Guy Waterhouse, Ivanna Samu, Tristan Hamilton

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of the South African Golf Association.

Posted in