Record entry for 2010 SA Stroke Play Championship

JG Claassen, defending champion, has confirmed his entryOne hundred and ninety seven amateur golfers have entered the 2010 South African Amateur Stroke Play Championship announced the South African Golf Association (SAGA) today.

The 72 hole stroke play championship is scheduled to be played from 9 to 12 February 2010 at Pearl Valley Golf Estates, Paarl, Western Cape.

“This is a record number of entries,” said Bruce Younge, Executive Director of the SAGA. “We introduced qualifying for the first time this year. As a result we broadened the eligibility criteria which is the main reason for the increase.” There are 95 entries more than the previous championship, according to Younge.

A glance at the list of players exempt from having to qualify for the prestigious championship, one notices a good sprinkling of South Africa’s top amateurs along with players from six different countries. In all there are eighty four players exempt from having to qualify.

Amongst the country’s leading players entered are Ryan Dreyer, the current Glacier SA Amateur Champion, and Dean O’Riley, currently ranked third on the latest SAGA Player Rankings.

The 2009 South African Stroke Play Champion, eighteen year old Orkney Golf Club member JG Claassen has confirmed his entry.

Of the foreign entrants, the most notable of whom is Laurie Canter of England. Although not one of his country’s top ranked amateurs he is nonetheless a member of the English Squad and comes with a bit of international competition experience which should stand him in good stead.

There are eight qualifying rounds, taking place in different parts of the country, that precede the championship. In all one hundred and fourteen players will be playing for sixty spots in the field. The biggest qualifying round takes place at Glenvista Country Club, on 12 January 2010, in Central Gauteng, where forty two players play for twenty one spots.

In all 144 players will make up a full field in the Championship, which will only be finalised after the last held qualifying round; Mt Edgecombe Country Club in Durban on 17 January 2010.

Posted in