PGA of SA honours Rupert

Johann Rupert has been awarded Honorary Membership of the PGA of South Africa, becoming the first amateur golfer in the 90-year history of the PGA of South Africa to receive this award.

Rupert received the award in recognition of his outstanding contribution to golf in South Africa and globally, including his role as the Chairman of the Sunshine Tour, his support of South African amateur golf, and his founding and continued support of the South African Golf Development Board (SAGDB).

“Mr Rupert, through his business influence and passion for golf, has done an immense amount of good work at all levels of the game in South Africa, from development to the professional arena,” Paul Marks, Chairman of the PGA of South Africa, said.

“As the PGA of South Africa, we take great pleasure in awarding Mr Rupert Honorary Membership of the association and in recognition of his tireless and continued support of South African golf.”

Rupert received the award at the Alfred Dunhill Championship at Leopard Creek on Tuesday, with Major winners and fellow Honorary Members of the PGA Louis Oosthuizen and Charl Schwartzel and multiple European Tour winner Branden Grace in the audience of professional golfers, business leaders and golf administrators.

“Golf has given me far more than I’ve ever done in giving to golf. It has given me friendships worldwide that I treasure. Thank you very much. It’s a very big honour. The PGA of South Africa does an incredible job and I will really treasure this award,” said Rupert.

Written and released by Michael Vlismas Media

Posted in