NMMU, Maties make fast start at USSA Golf Champs

Altin van der Merwe from Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University A; credit Ernest Blignault.

9 July 2018 – Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and the University of Stellenbosch share the top spot in the University Sport South Africa (USSA) Golf Championship at Port Shepstone Country Club.

Altin van der Merwe fired a four-under-par 68 in Monday’s first round of the 36-hole seeding qualifier to boost NNMU A to the top of the pile.

His opening effort, supported by a 75 from Kyle de Beer and 81 from Jacques Smit, handed the Bay team pole position at 224, however Johannes Vlok, Ulric Boezaart and Philip Swanepoel from Maties spoiled their party.

The trio matched the clubhouse target with rounds of 71, 75 and 78.

The joint leaders will carry a slender one shot lead into the final round over the University of Pretoria, who are gunning for a record 12th victory in the annual team championship after another dominant performance at Centurion Country Club last year.

Emilio Pera led the way for Tuks A with a two-over 74. James Kennedy added a 75 and Lieben Sheard contributed a 76 to their 225 opening tally.

Varsity College A is also within striking distance of the pacesetters on 227.

GolfRSA National Squad player Clayton Mansfield opened the bidding with a 74. Alexander Krebs registered 76 and Julian Samu returned a 77.

Team Standings – Round 1
224 Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University A (NMU A)
224 University of Stellenbosch A (US A)
225 University of Pretoria A (UP A)
227 Varsity College A (VCOL A)
231 University of Pretoria B (UP B)
233 University of Cape Town A (UCT A)
235 University of Johannesburg (UJ A)
236 Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University B (NMU B)
237 North West University (NWU A)
239 University of Stellenbosch (US B)
240 North West University (NWU B)
240 Rhodes University A (RHODES A)
241 Central University of Technology A (CUT A)
245 University of Johannesburg (UJ B)
253 Tshwane University of Technology A (TUT A)
256 Varsity College B (VCOL B)
263 University of Cape Town B (UCT B)
269 Rhodes University B (RHODES B)
292 Limpopo University
305 Sol Plaatjie (A)
313 Sol Plaatjie (B)

Individual Standings – Round 1 (top 20)
68 Altin van der Merwe (NMU A)
71 Johannes Vlok (US A)
72 Wian de Wet (UJ A); Francois Marx (CUT A)
74 Shaun Le Roux (UCT A); Clayton Mansfield (VCOL A); David Koekemoer (UJ B); Emilio Pera (UP A)
75 Arno Esterhuysen (UJ A); Luke Stanger (UP B); Ulric Boezaart (US A); James Kenndey (UP A); Kyle de Beer (NMU A)
76 Henco Botha (NWU B); Lieben Sheard (UP A); Hanno Viljoen (US B); Alexander Ray Krebs (VCOL A)
77 Ncamiso Ngcamu (UZUL A); Tristan Naude (NMU B); Pushane Peters (NMU B); Stephan Allen (NWU A); Julian Samu (VCOL A); Jacques Brits (UP B)

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of the USSA Championship and GolfRSA.