National Squad - Women

The GolfRSA National Squad has been funded by businessman Johann Rupert and one of the main objectives is to ensure that our best players are groomed to represent South Africa in international competition and are fully prepared for life in the paid ranks, should they opt to turn professional.

GolfRSA’s three-tired women’s squad system, made up of some of the country’s most promising amateur golfers, looks to identify, nurture and produce champion golfers who will represent South Africa with distinction.

The three squads cater for different levels of golfer: the Elite Squad is made up of the country’s best players, a B Squad includes talented players who have attended the Talent Identification (TID) Squad camps in the previous year and the Talent Identification Squad features young players with potential who have been scouted at provincial golf events.

“Through our Elite Squad system, we aim to give players the tools they require to achieve their ultimate golfing goals, which for many would include becoming professional golfers,” explains WGSA president Sally Greasley. “By keeping our squads small, we are able to pay close attention to the progress of each player and provide individual attention based on the player’s needs, strengths and weaknesses."

The squads attend numerous training camps throughout the year, where they receive one-on-one assessment and training from coaches Val Holland and Anna Becker-Frankel. They also receive individual sessions with sport psychologist Maretha Claasens and the elite players dedicate a full day to focussing on Trackman with Constanza Trussoni. Each player is given a golf-specific physical programme covering nutrition and fitness after their biomechanical assessment by Sandra Winter.

Squad players receive different levels of financial assistance and can be moved up or down squads during the year, depending on their progress, with inclusion in a squad not guaranteeing them being part of that squad the following year.

2018 WGSA Elite squad players

NameHome ClubDate of Birth
Caitlyn MacnabSerengeti Golf and Wildlife Estate18/02/2002
Kajal MistryRandpark Golf Club19/10/2000
Kaylah WilliamsBelville Golf Club02/04/2002
Symone HenriquesGlenvista Golf Club26/02/2001
Woo-Ju SonCountry Club Johannesburg18/02/2001
Zethu MyekiEast London GC17/11/1993

2018 WGSA B Squad players

NameHome ClubDate of Birth
Jordon RothmanDurbanville Golf Club04/10/2002
Kaiyuree MoodleyBryanston Country Club27/04/2001
Kera HealyEagle Canyon21/01/2003
Kiera FloydEbotse Golf Club06/10/2004
Megan Streicher Swellendam Golf Club 27/01/2003 

2018 WGSA TID Squad players

NameDate of Birth