Naidoo takes charge at Nomads SA Boys U-17

Dylan Naidoo from Central Gauteng overtook first round pacesetter, Luca Filippi, and charged into the halfway lead at the Nomads SA Boys Under-17 Stroke Play Championship at Polokwane Golf Club on Tuesday.

The Modderfontein golfer hit the front with successive rounds of 71 to move one stroke clear of Filippi on a 36-hole total of two-under-par 142.

Filippi from Western Province kept in touch with a 74, and finished one shot ahead of the group at even-par, including fellow Ernie Els and Fancourt Foundation member, Anuerin Gounden (70), Juan-Pierre Cooper (70), Zimbabwe’s Kieren Vincent (74) and reigning Nomads SA Boys Under-15 champion, Herman Loubser from Boland, who also carded a 74.

However, the frontrunners will do well to keep an eye on defending champion, Jovan Rebula.

The country’s number one ranked junior turned in two over and double-bogeyed the par-four first, but birdies at the second, sixth and seventh saw the Southern Cape golfer narrow the gap to three shots after signing for a one-over-par 73.

Naidoo got off to a solid birdie-birdie start, but dropped shots at third and fifth holes. He rallied with six consecutive pars, knocked in a birdie putt at the par-five 12th and drained half-a-dozen more par putts to set the unchallenged club house target.

The 16-year-old carried some good form into the event.

He helped Central Gauteng to victory in the Challenge Cup Teams Tournament at Cullinan Golf Club in May and contributed to TuksSport High School’s second victory in the SA High School Championship towards the end of June.

Filippi had birdies at the 10th and second, but four bogeys cost him the overnight lead.

Meanwhile Gounden dropped just a single shot against three birdies in his second trip at the popular former Sunshine Tour venue.

142 – Dylan Naidoo 71 71
143 – Luca Filippi 69 74
144 – Juan-Pierre Cooper 74 70; Anuerin Gounden 74 70; Herman Loubser 70 74; Kieran Vincent ZIM 70 74
145 – Jovan Rebula 73 72
146 – Michael Sherriff 76 70; Dylon Jacobs 76 70; Ettienne J van Rensburg 75 71; Rosswell Sinclair 74 72; Attie van Wyk 72 74
147 – J G Smith 75 72; Eric Brett Nel 73 74
148 – Clifford Thompson 74 74; Dawid Opperman 73 75
149 – Garrick Higgo 78 71; Kyle Barker 78 71; Gregory Mckay 77 72; Sentanio Minnie 75 74; Marco Steyn 75 74; Karabo Mokoena 75 74; Dylan Mostert 73 76; Wilco Nienaber 72 77; Wian van Aswegen 71 78

Released on behalf of the South African Golf Association.

Posted in