Mwandla takes aim at KZN Championship

KwaZulu-Natal’s Siyanda Mwandla made the most of the sunny conditions at Margate Country Club on Thursday to win the 36-hole Stroke Play Qualifier for the eLan KwaZulu-Natal Amateur Championship in wire-to-wire fashion.

In July last year, the 21-year-old Mwandla defeated former professional Graham Inggs 4 & 3 to become the first black club champion of Mount Edgecombe Country Club and now the Ernie Els and Fancourt Foundation member is targeting a first provincial title come Sunday.

The overnight leader followed an opening 66 with a fine four under 67 that featured seven birdies. He to set the target in the 36-hole qualifier at nine-under-par 133 and his leading score remained unchallenged.

Mwandla got off to a birdie start at the 10th, added another birdie at 12 and surrounded a bogey at 17 with a trio of birdies to complete the loop in four under 32. He surrendered back-to-back shots at the second and third, but eliminated the damage with further gains at five and nine.

The former SAGDB graduate finished one shot clear of Western Province’s Luca Filippi, who booked his spot in the match play stage with a tidy 66.

Mwandla will face Richard Joubert from Gauteng North, while Filippi goes up against Royal Durban’s Sebastian Terblanche, who both make the top 32 cut at four over.

Angus Ellis-Cole from Ekurhuleni carded rounds of 70 and 67 to take third at five under. He takes on another player who finished in the bus at 146, NJ van der Walt from Northern Cape.

Malcolm Mitchell from Kloof and Durban Country Club’s Jason Broomhead head the local challenge in the qualifier in join fourth on three under after carding respective rounds of 72 and 70. Mitchell will go head-to-head with fellow Shark, Walter Malevu from Kilbarchan Golf Club, while Broomhead will aim to get past David Nortje from North West.

Other KwaZulu-Natal players who will join the match play action include Graham Fabricius from Port Shepstone, Durban Country Club trio Matt Saulez, Lisanthan Moodley and Clayton Mansfield, Louis Albertse from Dundee, Sean Baker from Kokstad and Mount Edgecombe’s Luke Mayo.

The local supporters will no doubt back the KwaZulu-Natal contingent, but they should keep an eye on Albert Venter from Gauteng North.

The reigning Africa Amateur Stroke Play champion was beaten by Herman Loubser from Boland in a closely contested 36-hole final last year and will be looking for a fast start in his opening match against Mpumalanga’s Quinton Wilsnach.

133 Siyanda Mwandla 66 67
134 Luca Filippi 68 66
137 Angus Ellis-Cole 70 67
139 Jason Broomhead 69 70; 139 Malcolm Mitchell 67 72
140 Louis Albertse 71 69; Tristan Brice 68 72; Darin De Smidt 69 71; Luke Mayo 68 72; Kyle McClatchie 73 67; Mohit Mediratta 69 71; Matt Saulez 73 67
141 Alan Lones 74 67; Lisanthan Moodley 69 72; Dylan Mostert 71 70; Quinton Wilsnach 70 71
143 Christian Basson 70 73; Graham Fabricius 69 74; Michael Pienaar 69 74
144 Sean Baker 73 71; Tyrone Gibb 73 71; Albert Venter 74 70
145 Byron Coetzee 73 72; Neswill Croy 71 74; Clayton Mansfield 74 71; Emillo Pera 74 71; Jason Rossiter 73 72
146 Richard Joubert 72 74; Walter Malevu 73 73; David Nortje 73 73; Sebastian Terblanche 75 71; NJ Van Der Walt 72 74; Patric Dowling 74 72
147 Aneurin Gounden 70 77; Jens Hillerman 76 71; Greg McKay 76 71; Eric Wowor 78 69
148 Jordan Burnand 76 72; Zabastian De Jager 72 76; Carlo O’Reilly 74 74; Andrew Plint 72 76
149 Keelan Africa 76 73; Stephen Du Plessis 77 72; Dylan Kok 75 74; Adriel Poonan 74 75; Paul Rodrigues 74 75; Gavin Sole 78 71
150 Nico Du Buisson 81 69; Robert Mavundla 75 75; Karabo Mokoena 75 75; Dalan Tait 73 77

Siyanda Mwandla KZ vs Richard Joubert GN
Dylan Mostert EK vs Graham Fabricius KZ
Matt Saulez KZ vs Emillo Pera CG
Louis Albertse KZ vs Neswill Croy BL
Malcolm Mitchell KZ vs Walter Malevu KZ
Quinton Wilsnach MP vs Albert Venter GN
Jason Broomhead KZ vs David Nortje NW
Tristan Brice CG vs Sean Baker KZ
Kyle McClatchie EK vs Clayton Mansfield KZ
Alan Lones EP vs Michael Pienaar CG
Angus Ellis-Cole EK vs NJ van der Walt NC
Mohit Mediratta CG vs Jason Rossiter CG
Darin De Smidt CG vs Byron Coetzee KZ
Lisanthan Moodley KZ vs Christian Basson BL
Luke Mayo KZ vs Tyrone Gibb CG
Luca Filippi WP vs Sebastian Terblanche KZ

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of the South African Golf Association.

Posted in