Modderfontein clinches Oosthuizen’s Champs

Junior golfers Marco Steyn, Karabo Mokoena and Dylan Naidoo hit the winning numbers to ensure a podium finish for Modderfontein Golf Club in this year’s Louis Oosthuizen Junior Club Teams Championship at Clarens Golf Club.

Sixteen teams from across South Africa contested the second edition of this premier junior team event, hosted by 2010 Open champion, Louis Oosthuizen.

After the first two rounds on Sunday, Modderfontein lagged four shots behind pacesetters Polokwane and was three off the pace from Mount Edgecombe in second.

Mokoena and Steyn contributed 76s in the final round that helped the side close the gap on the frontrunners and Naidoo fired a superb two-under-par 69 that pushed the Gauteng team to the top of the pile. Fourth member, Eric Wowor, carded a non-counting 80.

The Modderfontein team’s finished on a total of 663 coming off rounds of 226, 216 and 221 and edged out Mount Edgecombe by one stroke.

Greg McKay signed for a final round 73 for Mount Edgecombe, while Anuerin Gounden and Luke Mayo contributed two 76s for their final round 225.

Polokwane dropped to third place on 668. Jaco Linde from Polokwane carded a solid even-par 71, but Corne Olivier’s 78 and an 81 from Hennie du Plessis saw the team close with a final round 230.

Jade Buitendag, Allan Lones and Roy Gobey from East London Golf Club put in a great final round effort to vault from last to seventh on a total score of 687. Lones carded a 75, while Gobey and Buitendag contributed 76s for a final round score of 227.

Meanwhile Aldre Terblance claimed the Individual Competition on one-under-par 212 with rounds of 70-67-75. The Klerksdorp player finished two shots clear from Polokwane’s Linde and three ahead of Mount Edgecombe’s McKay.


663 – Modderfontein 226-216-221

664 – Mt Edgecombe 220-219-225

668 – Polokwane 217-221-230

671 – Bloemfontein 227-215-229

679 – Louis Oosthuizen Academy 230-220-229

686 – Bellville 226-225-235

687 – East London 232-228-227

689 – Centurion 240-214-235

689 – Klerksdorp 232-224-233; Kempton Park 230-227-232

699 – Sishen 232-230-237

709 – Middleburg 226-238-245

723 – Wanderers 238-239-246

728 – Lake Club Benoni 240-243-245

738 – Devonvale 240-250-248

741 – Witbank 244-241-256

TEAM PHOTO – The victorious Modderfontein team, winners of the 2013 Louis Oosthuizen Junior Club Teams Championship at Clarens Golf Club; credit Deon Smit / Immanuel Photography.

From left to right – Louis Oosthuizen 57 brand manager, Bertu Nel, Eric Wowor, Marco Steyn, Karabo Mokoena, Dylan Naidoo, Neil Naidoo (team manager) and SAGA president, Andre Pieterse.

Posted in