Kruinsig cruises to Ernie Els Champs victory

2018 Ernie Els SA Primary Schools Championship winners Laerskool Kruinsig at Humewood Golf Club; credit Michael Sheehan.

3 August 2012 – Laerskool Kruinsig celebrated national breakthrough with a winning performance in the eighth Ernie Els SA Primary School Championship at Humewood Golf Club in Port Elizabeth on Friday.

The Kempton Park-based team opened up a three shot lead with an opening round of 240 and clinched a two shot victory on a winning total of 477 with a final round 237.

Curro Hazeldean Primary finished second and Midstream College third on 496.

“La-Velle Clark-Halket carded 77 and Corne Jansen and Marno Lange both posted rounds of 80 to secured the victory for us,” said Laerskool Kruinsig team manager Jurian Pienaar.

“We finished sixth in last year’s event at Randpark and it was very good experience for Corne, Marno and Ian van Rhyn, who led the team in the first round. La-Velle joined us this year and really punched well above his weight for the team.

“I am blown away by this team’s performance. Links golf is never easy, especially given the wet conditions on day one and the wind in the final round. But the boys got a great feel for the course during the practice round when the wind was really howling and it definitely helped their game plans.

“I was hoping for a top three finish this year, but these lads had their own agenda. They never backed down from the challenge and they really played for each other. We took a three shot lead in round one, but with this format things can change quickly. I asked them to bring their A-game and to try to limit the mistakes and they delivered.

“We wore pink ribbons this week for Amone Steyn, a learner at Laerskool Kruinsig who was recently diagnosed with leukaemia and we would like to dedicate this victory to her. We are also really happy to take this trophy home as a belated birthday present for our headmaster Johan Kruger, who gives us such incredible support.

“On behalf of the team, I would like to congratulate Curro Hazeldean on a fantastic final round battle. They gave us a run for our money and it was a very exciting tussle right to the last putt. Well done to all the primary schools who participated this year and their contribution to the success of the eighth Ernie Els SA Primary School Championships.

“Competition is the only way for these young juniors to grow and develop and we thank GolfRSA and David Younge for a fantastic event.”

Jordan Wessels also went wire-to-wire to score a runaway victory in the Individual Competition.

The Curro Hazeldean Primary scholar carded rounds of 69 and 70 to win by 16 shots from Leonard Bevan from Laerskool Buhrmannsdrif and Laerskool Saamtrek’s Heinrich Janse van Vuuren. Lange and Clark-Halket from Laerskool Kruinsig shared fourth on 159.

Team Result
(Best 3 scores of 4 to count)
477 Laerskool Kruinsig 240 – 237
479 Curro Hazeldean Primary 243 – 236
496 Midstream College 253 – 243
504 Glenwood House Prep 251 – 253
508 Laerskool George-Suid 257 – 251
518 Highbury Preparatory A 265 – 253
518 ST Dunstan’s Preparatory 263 – 255
525 Laerskool Saamtrek 273 – 252
525 Durbanville Primary 268 – 257
538 Dainfern College 276 – 262
539 Highbury Preparatory B 264 – 275
543 Curro Aurora 281 – 262
545 Wolmaranstad Primary 268 – 277
550 Grey Junior 279 – 271
550 Laerskool Buhrmannsdrif 278 – 272
650 Hoer en Laerskool Balfour 336 – 314
660 Laerskool Goedehoop 324 – 336

Individual Result (Top 20)
139 Jordan Wessels 69 70
155 Heinrich Janse van Vuuren 82 73; Leonard Bevan 76 79
159 L A Clark-Halket 82 77; Marno Lange 79 80
162 Luan Coetzee 82 80; Tiaan Hugo 82 80
163 Ruben Jansen van Rensburg 87 76; William Reyneke 85 78; Heinrich Haasbroek 79 84
165 Corne Jansen 85 80; Juan Barnard 82 83
166 Ryan Melville 80 86
167 Arnoux van der Merwe 87 80; Guy Harcourt 85 82; Nathan Jacobs 84 83
168 Jason Pengelley 84 84; Ian van Rhyn 79 89
171 Calvin Brooks 88 83; Reece Brown 86 85; Benjamin van Wyk 86 85

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of GolfRSA.