Henriette anchors Daisies to win 72 Hole Champs

Gauteng North A (Daisies) picked up the Swiss Team Trophy for the second consecutive year when they won the WGSA 72 Hole Teams Championship played at Langebaan Golf Estate in the Boland this week. They had previously won this stroke play event when it was played on home turf in 2008 at Wingate Park and 2010 at Graceland in Mpumalanga.

Henriëtte Frylinck anchored the team with her scores counting in all four rounds 77, 68, 71, 72 to finish on level par 288 and was a worthy winner of the individual Governor’s Trophy. Team members Kim Williams and Nobuhle Dlamini each contributed two scores in this event in which two of the three scores count in each round.

North West A’s team of Bertine Strauss, Nicole Becker and Bonita Bredenhann, winner’s in 2009 at East London, were runner-up, followed by Southern Cape A who counted out Mpumalanga A. The Southern Cape team included Sandra Winter, Iliska Verwey and Nicole Loesch. Iliska and Nicole returned to SA at the end of 2010, having studied at colleges in the USA.

Following their promotion to the A Division last year, Mpumalanga’s Izel Pieters, Alana van Greuning and Rochelle Brooks did very well to finish tied third with Southern Cape.

North West B gained promotion to the A Division when they picked up the Challenge Trophy by winning the B division. Suné du Plooy anchored the team with scores of 78, 77, 74, 78 (307) and young Mae Cornforth, playing in her first provincial tournament and experienced Elru Botha were the other two members of the team.

Runners-up were Southern Cape B Maggie du Toit, Stephanie Perkins and Anezel Zylstra. In third position were Gauteng C’s Chevonne Botha, Larissa Ras and Simoné Burger.

Henriëtte Frylinck (77) was one back from Bertine Strauss and Izel Pieters (76) after round one when gale force winds and rain made conditions extremely difficult and scores were high. However her four-under 68 in round two put her ahead and she maintained her lead to win the individual event by five strokes on level par from Bertine Strauss +5 and Kim Williams +8.

This was first WGSA event where no caddies were permitted (Langebaan policy) but the players never complained despite the difficult weather conditions, especially playing 36 holes in rain in rounds two and three.

WGSA President Cynthia Rayner announced the South African team to The Spirit – a biennial event which will take place from 2 to 5 November at Whispering Pines, Texas. The team is Iliska Verwey and Kim Williams and they will be accompanied by two men selected by the SA Golf Association.

She also announced a junior team to play in the Harder German Junior Championship from 2 – 4 August in Heddesheim, Germany, and the Girls British Open Amateur to be played at Gullane Golf Club in the UK from 8 – 12 August. The team is Lara Weinstein, Izel Pieters and Michaela Fletcher.

The South African team to represent South Africa at the Astor Trophy (formerly the 5 Nations Commonwealth Tournament) departs on 5 June and the weather conditions experienced at Langebaan this week should stand them in good stead for traditional British coastal weather. The team is Non-Playing Captain Sandra Winter, Tiffany-Avern Taplin, Henriëtte Frylinck, Bertine Strauss, Iliska Verwey and Kim Williams. They will be accompanied by coach Val Holland and Manager Cynthia Rayner.

The next event on the WGSA national calendar is the Nomads SA Girls; Championships to be played at Orkney Golf Club from 26 to 28 June.

Leaderboard – Click on Name of Player to see individual score card

Posted in