GolfRSA Juniors keep control in Africa Amateur

New cap Sam Simpson from Western Province helped to keep the GolfRSA Juniors in pole position in the 54-hole Team Competition on day two of the African Amateur Stroke Play Championship at Leopard Creek; credit Ernest Blignault.

13 February 2019 – The GolfRSA Juniors will hunt successive victories when they start today’s final round of the Team Competition at the African Amateur Stroke Play Championship with a commanding lead at Leopard Creek.

New cap Sam Simpson, Jayden Schaper and Christo Lamprecht combined for a 10-under 206 total in round two to keep the defending champions firmly in the driver’s seat.

The GolfRSA Juniors will start the final round on nine under par with a 10 shots lead over Sweden, England and South Africa.

Two-time former champions Scotland is fifth on three-over, India is sixth on five-over and Germany will start their final push in seventh on seven-over.

France, Mauritius and Reunion round out the leaderboard at eighth, ninth and 10th respectively.

Simpson from Western Province set the tone for the team with a four-under-par 68. Schaper and Lamprecht both returned rounds of 69 to keep the side in pole position, while the final member of the team, Martin Vorster, carded a non-counting 72.

Tom Plumb and Billy McKenzie fired five-under-par 67s and David Langley contributed 72 for an eight-under 208 that boosted England into joint second.

A solid 68 from world number 94 Ludwig Abert and a pair of 73s from Rasmus Hjelm and Gustav Andersson for a two-under 214 put Sweden in the three-way at 433.

The biggest movers on day two was South Africa, who collaborated for a 12-under 204 total.

South Africa’s number one ranked Wilco Nienaber blistered the championship course to set the low round target with a sizzling 66, while Luca Filippi and Therion Nel added rounds of 69 to boost the side from seventh to second in the standings.

The 54-hole team event concludes today, while the top 50 and ties will vie for glory in Thursday’s final round of the 72-hole stroke play championship.

423 GolfRSA Juniors 217 Jayden Schaper 69 Martin Vorster 71 Samuel Simpson 77; 206 Samuel Simpson 68 Christo Lamprecht Jnr 69 Jayden Schaper 69
433 Team South Africa 229 Wilco Nienaber 74 Therion Nel 77 Deon Germishuys 78; 204 Wilco Nienaber 66 Luca Filippi 69 Therion Nel 69
433 England 225 Tom Plumb 73 David Langley 75 Billy McKenzie 77; 208 Tom Plumb 67 Billy McKenzie 67 David Langley 74
433 Sweden 219 Ludwig Aberg 70 Gustav Andersson 73 Adam Wallin 76; 214 Ludwig Aberg 68 Rasmus Hjelm 73 Gustav Andersson 73
435 Scotland 224 Euan Walker 72 Jim Johnston 76 Kieran Cantley 76; 211 Euan Walker 67 Jim Johnston 70 Kieran Cantley 74
437 India 225 Kartik Sharma 74 Varun Parikh 75 Anat Singh Ahlawat 76; 212 Kartik Sharma 67 Anat Singh Ahlawat 72 Varun Parikh 73
440 Germany 219 Lukas Bastian Buller 72 Alexander Herrmann 73 Marc Alexander Hammer 74; 221 Alexander Herrmann 73 Jannik De Bruyn 74 Marc Alexander Hammer 74
459 France 231 Theo Boulet 75 Nicolas Muller 77 Aymeric Laussot 79; 228 Charles Larcelet 72 Nicolas Muller 78 Theo Boulet 78
477 Reunion 242 Antoine Sale 79 Titouan Berny 80 Johan Mouniama 83; 235 Johan Mouniama 75 Antoine Sale 77 Titouan Berny 83
479 Mauritius 248 Pierre Pellegrin 79 Julien Planel 82 Rakesh Channoo 87; 231 Pierre Pellegrin 74 Florent Toulet 74 Rakesh Channoo 83

LIVESCORING – available on
Follow us at @GolfRSA on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of GolfRSA.