Gauteng North successful for the third consecutive year.

Predicably, the Gauteng North team of Magda Krüger, Kim Williams, and Nobuhle Dlamini (pictured) picked up the Swiss Team Trophy for the third consecutive year at the WGSA 72 Hole Teams Championship played at Polokwane Golf Club this week.

The team led from the first round and eventually finished 16 strokes ahead of the newly formed union, Ekurhuleni – Nicole Garcia, Bonita Bredenhann and Simoné Burger.

And in third place, Gauteng North B, Carrie Park, Eugenie Clack and Emma de Bruyn – all with great scores in the final round – pipped Western Province by two strokes for inclusion in the prize list.

In the individual stakes, Kim Williams whose opening round of 68 set up a new course record at Polokwane, won the Governers Trophy with scores of 68, 75, 77, 70 (290), four strokes ahead of Bonita Bredenhann, 75, 76, 72, 71 (294). Nobuhle Dlamini returned a disappointing final round to finish in third place 73, 72, 74, 78 (297).

16-Year old Magda Krüger finished fourth on 304 (75, 76, 81, 72). Lara Weinstein (Gauteng A) was fifth on 305 (75, 74, 79, 77) and Western Provinces Ji Sun Kang was sixth on 306 (75, 76, 76, 79).

The B Section Challenge Trophy was won by Western Province B who finished on the same score (613) as their A team in the A Division. The two Korean teenagers, Ji Sun Kang and Se Young Chun’s scores counted in all four rounds and the team finished 20 strokes ahead of Eastern Cape’s Kim Daniels, Imkeleen Meyer and Nicole Fourie. Gauteng North C – Sylvia Masango, Marné Clack and Nicole Fourie – won third prize.

An amazing three holes-in-one were recorded during the tournament. Yushira Budhram (round 1) and Margurite Pienaar (round 2) each aced their tee shots at the 16th hole and today, Free State’s Zanele Mazibuko scored her first hole-in-one at the 8th hole.

A junior team to play in the Harder German Juniors in Augiust was announced. The girls are Kelly Erasmus, Bianca Theron and Lara Weinstein.

The biennial All Africa Challenge Trophy will be played early in June and the South African team competing is Kim Williams, Alana van Greuning and Lejanne Lewthwaite.

Posted in