Gauteng North makes a clean sweep of both IPT Divisions

80 of South Africa’s top women amateur golfers have descended upon the Woodmead course at Country Club Johannesburg to represent their provinces in the 2012 Pick n Pay SA Women’s Inter-Provincial. The results of the first day’s foursomes and singles stroke play dictates in which section of each Division (A Inter Provincial and B Inter Provincial) the teams will compete for the match play which starts tomorrow.

A cloudy, calm day greeted the players at CCJ, where the course is in its usual immaculate winter condition. The A Division foursomes results, with two out of three scores counting, provided some excitement on the live scoring when Boland overtook their rival neighbours, Western Province who had been leading for a number of holes. Boland held the lead until the 14th, but were unable to keep the momentum going, and Gauteng North and Ekurhuleni over took them. Gauteng North A’s foursome pairings of Kim Williams and Magda Kruger (72) and Nobuhle Dlamini and Carrie Park (75) put them in an early lead with a total of 147, with Ekurhuleni on 154.

The wind picked up later in the day when the afternoon singles started. Kim Williams and Bonita Bredenhann teed off in the same group, and when both of them birdied the 1st hole, it looked more like match play than stroke play. Kim’s 5 birdies and 1 drop on the front nine, to Bonita’s 2 birdies, 1 eagle and 1 drop, put Kim in the lead by one at the turn. A see-saw battle ensued between these two top players, with Bonita emerging the winner of the battle on 4 under par (68). Kim posted a 69.

Gauteng North A won the Jean Tindall Memorial Trophy, and Gauteng North B won the Nolan Karp Trophy for the foursomes and singles stroke play qualifying rounds.

Final team positions in the A Inter Provincial:

Section 1: Gauteng North A (517); Ekurhuleni (534); Western Province A (537); Gauteng A (547)

Section 2: Southern Cape (548); Boland (551); KwaZulu Natal (554); North West (569)

Final team positions in the B Inter Provincial:

Section 1: Gauteng North B (392); Mpumalanga (395); Eastern Cape (398); Gauteng B (403)

Section 2: Western Province B (403); Free State & Northern Cape (409); Border (423); Limpopo (442)

Posted in