Gauteng North doubles chances at Pick n Pay SA Womens IPT

It has played out as predicted and the Western Province and Gauteng know they are in for an uphill battle after Tuesday’s qualifier round left two Gauteng North teams in contention for this year’s Pick n Pay SA Women’s IPT title race at Port Elizabeth Golf Club on Wednesday.

Gunning for their seventh consecutive victory, Gauteng North doubled their odds to extend their dominance in the prestigious women’s team competition when the A team claimed the Jean Tindall Memorial Trophy and the B team also qualified for the top section of the A Division.

Reigning Sanlam SA Amateur Match Play champion Kim Williams partnered with top ranked junior Magda Kruger, while Carrie Park combined with current number one and reigning Stroke Play champion Nobuhle Dlamini for a total of 147 in the morning foursomes stroke play.

The team combined for a total score of 528 in the afternoon singles, beating Province by a narrow margin.

The Cape side’s Yvette du Plessis and Vanessa Smith combined in the foursomes while reigning Nomads SA Girls champion Ji Sun Kang partnered junior Cara Gorlei for a foursome’s total of 151. The team also showed some threatening form in the afternoon singles.

After briefly scaring Gauteng North into second, Province finished just five shots off the pace on 533.

Meanwhile Gauteng’s Lara Weinstein and Lauren Bekker and partners Michelle Leigh and Kaleigh Telfer produced a 158 in the foursomes. The team rallied in the singles to leapfrog Gauteng North B for third on 550, while the newcomers slotted into fourth with 155 in the foursomes and a total tally of 570.

The remaining four A Division teams that will do battle in the B-Section include KwaZulu-Natal, Ekurhuleni, Boland and North West.

The Eastern Province will count on home course advantage to go all the way after coming up trumps in the B Division.

Imkeleen Meyer partnered Jamie-Lee Daniels and Minette Olivier combined with Tara Griebenow for a 159 in the foursomes and the team rallied in the singles to lift the Nolan Karp Trophy with a winning total of 398.

The hosts finished six shots clear of Gauteng B. Southern Cape trails at 418 with filling out the A-Section in fourth on 421.

The B-Section will be contested by Western Province B, Limpopo, Free State & Northern Cape and Mpumalanga.

The format for the next three days will be foursomes in the morning, followed by afternoon singles.

Posted in