Five new Union Presidents join the WGSA Executive

Women’s Golf SA welcomed five new Provincial Presidents to the Executive at meetings held at Umhlali Country Club last week.

Pictured are the 13 Presidents. L to R, Dot van Ryneveld (Gauteng North), Louise van Niekerk (Border), Sally Greasley (Eastern Cape), Les Rule (Gauteng), Molly Whitaker (KZN), Desi Earle (Limpopo), Michelle Holt (FS & NC) and Ann Johnstone (Southern Cape. Seated are Jane Brown (WP), Sarie Fourie (Mpumalanga), Lol Jones (Boland), Daphne Maynier (Ekurhuleni) and Cathy Mortimer (North West).

Daphne Maynier is the first President of the new Union Ekurhuleni which increased the number of WGSA unions to 13 in January 2012. Her home is in Benoni.

Sarie Fourie is from Witbank and she replaces Marthie Dampier as President of Mpumalanga. She describes herself as a widowed pensioner, but has her son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren living with her.

Desi Earle returns as Limpopo President after a number of years – although she was secretary in between her terms as President. She and her Dad, well know Teaching Professional Ray Earle, have the Pro-Shop at Polokwane Golf Club which will be hosting the WGSA 72 Hole Teams Championships in May.

Cathy Mortimer has been secretary of the North West Union for many years and is the new President, replacing Rina van Zijl. She continues to be secretary of the North West and runs a family business in Klerksdorp.

Rules Official Lol Jones is the new President of Boland Ladies Golf and lives in Stellenbosch. She formerly very much involved in SA Disabled Golf while her husband Bob was Director and on the Board. Bob is currently Secretary of Boland Ladies Golf.

Posted in