Final showdown for South African Juniors

Rosswell Sinclair and Albert Venter will lead the Gauteng North into battle against Ekurhuleni in the first round of the A-Division in the South African Junior Inter-Provincial, which kicks off at Krugersdorp Golf Club on Monday.

It might be their toughest match of the week, as the duo will face reigning Nomads SA Boys U-19 Stroke Play and Match champions, Tristen Strydom and Paul Boshoff, in the opening gambit.

Sinclair comes into the championship on the back of a tie for fourth at the Joburg Junior Open at Royal Johannesburg & Kensington on Friday, while Venter showed some good form at the tough East Course to tie for 14th.

The final practice could be to their advantage, though, as the Ekurhuleni pair elected not to play the final stroke play event of the junior season.

Stefan Wears-Taylor and Estiaan Conradie will go up against Kyle McClatchie and Jason Froneman, while JP Cooper and Nicholaus Frade will combine against Dylan Mostert and Sentanio Minnie.

In the final pairing, Cliffie Thompson – a four-time winner this season, will partner with Ofenste Nukeri against Ruhan van Dijk and Chris van Tonder.

David Meyers and Marco Steyn – who combined so brilliantly for the victorious Central Gauteng team at the Premier SA Inter-Provincial, sponsored by Tempest – will hope to help the junior side set course for a double triumph this week.

The team faces off against some big guns from Southern Cape in the first round, including Jovan Rebula, twins Aidan and Caylum Boon.

Top juniors Luke Trocado, Altin van der Merwe and Luca Filippi are in the line-up for Western Province, who will take on Limpopo in round one.

Gauteng North vs Ekurhuleni
Rosswell Sinclair & Albert Venter VS Tristen Strydom & Paul Boshoff
Stefan Wears-Taylor & Estiaan Conradie VS Kyle McClatchie & Jason Froneman
JP Cooper & Nicholaus Frade VS Dylan Mostert & Sentanio Minnie.
Cliffie Thompson & Ofenste Nukeri VS Ruhan van Dijk & Chris van Tonder.

Western Province vs Limpopo
Luke Trocado & Altin van der Merwe VS Franco van Zyl & Jaco Linde
Michael Sherriff & Luca Fillippi VS AJ Smit & Cameron Nesmith
Noel Anderson & Alistair Showdon VS Franco Putter & Gerhard Pepler
Hayden Garcia & Cole Cruickshank VS Robert Fatana & James Vorster Jnr

Central Gauteng vs Southern Cape
Dylan Naidoo & Rupert Kaminski VS Jovan Rebula & Franklin Manchest
David Meyers & Marco Steyn VS Cameron Moralee & Caylum Boon
Karabo Mokoena & Keelan van Wyk VS Jabulane Mabilane & Alex van Wyk
Dean Martin & Fritz Orren VS Jurie-Hans Human & Aidan Boon.

Posted in