Ekurhuleni closes out Challenge Trophy conquest

Alisa Rich, Kiera Floyd and Teagan Lubbe secured promotion for Ekurhuleni B with a four-shot victory in the Challenge Trophy of the SA Women’s 72-Hole Teams Championship at Waterkloof Golf Club. Pictured with WGSA vice-president Sarah Braude; credit Ernest Blignault.

23 May 2018 – The A-team might have come up short in the SA Women’s 72-Hole Championship, but Kiera Floyd, Teagan Lubbe and Alisa Rich gave Ekurhuleni plenty reason to celebrate when the trio combined for a four shot victory in the Challenge Trophy on Wednesday.

And the conquest at Waterkloof Golf Club also comes with a coveted promotion to the Swiss Team Trophy in 2019.

The B-team posted rounds of 160, 153 and 153 to start the final round with a two shot lead over Boland B and Free State.

Thirteen-year-old Floyd made sure her team retained pole position when she birdied two of the last three holes for an even-par 72.

Teagan Lubbe carded 80 for total of 152 that pushed the team’s 72-hole tally to 618.

Annalie Swanepoel, Megan Streicher and Shani Brynard combined for 622 to finish in second and Chante van Zyl, Pheletso Mota and 14-year-old Gabbi Venter secured third for Free State on 625.

Ekurhuleni also featured prominently the Individual competition.

Caitlyn Macnab, who anchored Ekurhuleni A, shared first with Danielle du Toit from Gauteng North on three-over 291, while Floyd and Casandra Hall from the A-team tied for fifth on 297. Sarah Bouch, also from Ekurhuleni A, tied for eighth on 300.

Click HERE to view the Challenge Trophy results.

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of GolfRSA.