Daisies to defend their Inter-Provincial Championship in Paarl

Gauteng North A (Daisies) look set to win the Pick n Pay SA Inter-Provincial for the third consecutive year, with four of their players ranked in the top five in the country. Kim Williams, Connie Chen, Henriëtte Frylinck and Marné Roos, are all part of the SA Squad for WATC 2010 and it will take a mammoth performance from any other team to unseat them.

North West, holders of the WGSA 72 hole stroke play championship will present a strong challenge, but with only Bertine Strauss, Nicole Becker and Bonita Bredenhann at the top of their games, they do not have the depth of their Gauteng North neighbours.

The SA Women’s Inter-Provincial, sponsored for the 12th year by Pick and Pay, will be played at the picturesque Paarl Golf Club from 13 to 18 September 2009, the first time a Women’s national championship has been played on this championship course.

The event brings together the 80 top amateur golfers in the country in a tournament played in two sections, making provision for smaller unions to compete and to include players from all parts of the country. Both the SA Stroke Play Champion, Yvette du Plessis and the Match Play Champion, NobuhleDlamini will be competing. The average age of competitors is continually decreasing and every year new young players emerge from the tournament, making women’s golf an exciting place to be.

The Championship Division includes eight teams comprising six players each while the B Inter-Provincial has eight teams comprising four players per team. After the practice round on Monday 14 September, all teams play 36 holes of stroke play on Tuesday – foursomes in the morning and singles in the afternoon – to determine the winners of the Jean Tindall Trophy (Championship) and Nolan Karp Trophy (B Inter-Provincial) and also to split the teams into A1 and A2 Divisions (Championship Division) and B1 and B2 Divisions (B Inter-Provincial).

From Wednesday to Friday, the four teams in each division play each other – foursomes and singles each day – with the two top teams in each division playing each other on the final day which promises some exciting golf. Last year in pouring rain at Umhlali Country Club, the Daisies narrow defeated North West with the final match between Kim Williams and Bertine Strauss determining the result.

2008 Also saw the return of KwaZulu Natal to the A Inter-Provincial when the team won both the Nolan Karp stroke play and the B Inter-Provincial match play, relegating Western Province B. They too could present a challenge to their northern opponents with a team including Tiffany-Avern Taplin (also in the SA Squad), Pam Hayward, a fast-improving Johmari Logtenberg and Taryn Heyns.

Posted in