Curro Aurora double up at SA High School Champs

Curro Aurora went wire-to-wire to successfully defend in the eighth SA High School Championships at Devonvale Golf and Wine Estate; credit GolfRSA.
Left to right – Cara Ford, Cole Stevens, Adrian Ferreira (manager), Kieron van Wyk and Carl Mwale.

3 August 2018 – Curro Aurora celebrated a successful title defence in the eighth South African High School Championship with a wire-to-wire victory at Devonvale Golf and Wine Estate on Friday.

The 2017 champions carried a slender one shot lead into the final round over Afrikaanse Hoër Seunskool Pretoria after setting the first round target at five-under-par 211.

Carl Mwale, Cole Stevens and Kieron van Wyk kept Curro Aurora at the top of the pile with a total of five-over 221. Curro Aurora beat Afrikaanse Hoër Seunskool Pretoria by five shots on a winning total of 432.

Christiaan Maas, Dean Sanders and Francois van der Walt from Affies combined for 225, while a final round 220 from Daniel Cronje, Francois Cilliers and Tyran Snyders earned local favourites Paarl Boys High third place on 439.

Mwale from Eagle Canyon anchored Curro Aurora with an opening 69 and once again led the charge in the final round with an even-par 72.

Fellow South African Golf Development Board members Stevens from Parkview and Ruimsig’s Van Wyk contributed respective rounds of 73 and 76 and the fourth member of the team, Cara Ford from Randpark, posted a non-counting 84.

“We are incredibly proud of the team’s achievement,” said Curro Aurora manager Adrian Ferreira.

“Conditions were certainly tougher than in the first round. The course set up was more difficult and the wind made it really hard to break par. Carl, Cole and Kieron, who played on last year’s winning team, were determined to defend the title and bring the trophy back to Curro Aurora. They dug really deep in the final round and their achievement speaks to their commitment to the team. Throughout the tournament they played for, and fed off each other.

“We would like to thank our executive head JC Engelbrecht and our headmaster Dr Richard Kieck for their unwavering support of the golf programme at Curro Aurora. We are also greatly indebted to Central Gauteng Golf Union, in particular Andy Truluck, and to our right-hand man, Hardus van der Merwe, for their continued support.

“A special word of thanks to Eden Thompson and GolfRSA for giving our young golfers the chance to compete in an event of this magnitude. The talent on show this week was really impressive and it was fantastic to see spirit of the sportsmanship among our juniors.

“Congratulations to all the teams who travelled to Boland on a fantastic championship and well done to Affies and Paarl Boys High on finishing in the medals. Hats off to Devonvale for hosting us and giving us an immaculate course to compete on this week.

“Finally, the team and I wish to congratulate Wilco Nienaber, who won the Individual Competition for a second successive year. Wilco is a fantastic ambassador for the sport and leads by example. He is a wonderful inspiration for our juniors, both in his work ethic and his conduct.”

Nienaber from Grey College Secondary fired rounds of 64 and 71 to triumph on nine-under-par 135.

Maas finished second on 140, Mwale third on 141 and Cronje fourth on 142. Stevens and Jean Pierre van der Watt from Glenwood House Independent School completed the top five on 143.

Team Result
432 Curro Aurora 211 – 221
437 Die Afrikaanse Hoër Seunskool Pretoria 212 – 225
439 Paarl Boys High 219 – 220
441 Glenwood House Independent School 220 – 221
442 Grey College Secondary 217 – 225
442 The Golf School of Excellence 215 – 227
448 De Villiers Graaf High School 225 – 223
449 Rundle College 221 – 228
458 Grey High School 225 – 233
462 St. Stithians Boys 230 – 232
463 Fairmont High School 235 – 228 Ian Botha 74 Joshua Wiese 75 Kaylah Williams 79
466 Woodlands International College 230 – 236
470 Daniel Pienaar Technical High School 231 – 239
473 HTS Middelburg 237 – 236
474 Clifton College 234 – 240
487 Tuks Sport High School 242 – 245
488 Middelburg Hoërskool 247 – 241
494 Klerksdorp Hoërskool 246 – 248
498 Rondebosch Boys High 245 – 253
503 Marais Viljoen High 254 – 249
248 Hoërskool Lichtenburg 248 – 0

Individual Result (Top 20)
135 Wilco Nienaber 64 71
140 Christiaan Maas 69 71
141 Carl Mwale 69 72
142 Daniel Cronje 71 71
143 Jean Pierre van der Watt 71 72; Cole Stevens 70 73
144 Reghard Viljoen 72 72
146 Liam van Deventer 74 72; Ian Botha 72 74
147 Calvin Maia 77 70; Francois Cilliers 74 73; Benji Stein 73 74; Brendan Porter 70 77; Francois van der Walt 70 77
148 Grant Ferreira 74 74; Kieron van Wyk 72 76; Titouan Berny 72 76
149 Aidon Willemse 76 73; Connor Williamson 76 73; Damian Osner 72 77

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of GolfRSA.