2016 USSA Golf Championship champions Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University A; credit Brendon Timm.

The University of Pretoria will have the chance to chase an 11th victory in the 2017 University Sport South Africa (USSA) Golf Championship, but only one team can challenge for the title in the final round at Centurion Country Club on Friday.

The A and B teams both cruised through the first round of the match play stage on Wednesday to join Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and Varsity College A in the semi-finals, but playing each other means one team will get their marching orders on Thursday.

Just 24 hours after Gregg Gilson, Adriaan Hamman, Andrew Plint and Brandon Lane from University of Pretoria B combined to win the 36-hole Seeding Qualifier, the quartet rallied to send North West University B packing in a 6 – 0 whitewash.

The A-team, meanwhile, pocketed 1.5 points in the foursomes and racked up another 4.5 points in the singles to eliminate North West University A 5 – 1.

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University A also came close to a clean sweep.

The defending champions surrendered just half a point in their match against the University of Johannesburg A when Hando Brophy halved against Charl de Vries. The 2015 champions will face Varsity Collage A, who had a real fight on their hands against Stellenbosch University A.

The two teams drew the 1-all in the foursomes. Varsity Collage A drew first blood when Patric Broughill-Downing won 5 & 3, but Philip Swanepoel defeated Jason Broomhead 2 & 1 to square the match. Devon Murray beat Hanno Viljoen 1-up and Julian Samu sealed the 3.5 – 2.5 result for Varsity College A when he halved with Heinz Venter.

Central University of Technology Free State A top the B-Section log with 1.5 points.

CUT A made the most of their start in the round robin format to beat Varsity College B 3.5 – 2.5 and draw 3-all against the University of the Witwatersrand A. The University of Stellenbosch B defeated Rhodes University A and their 4 – 2 result moved the team into close second with one point.

University of Johannesburg B edged out Rhodes University A 3.5 – 2.5 to move into the number one spot in the C-Section log, but University of Zululand A and Tshwane University of Technology A are within striking distance after the two teams drew their match.

Tshwane University of Technology A initially had the upper-hand in the foursomes and Henri Collins put the side 3 – 0 ahead when he took the first singles game 7 & 6.

However, NK Ngcamu rallied to defeat Divan Geyer 5 & 4, NB Shezi won 3 & 1 against Richard O’Farrell and SH Mathenjwa sealed the 3-all draw when he downed John Willis 3 & 1.

PHOTO: 2016 USSA Golf Championship champions Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University A; credit Brendon Timm.
From left to right: Altin van der Merwe, Kyle de Beer, Karl du Preez (manager), Jacques Smith, Hando Brophy (captain)

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of the USSA Championship and GolfRSA a SAGA and WGSA Not-For-Profit company.