Champions Gather for Grand Finale

South Africa’s best club champions, across multiple divisions, will gather this week at Glendower Golf Club to determine who the ultimate Champion of Champions will be.

Players who have qualified for the National Final – played over 36 holes – will have won their club championship, followed by a victory in the regional finals. Their prize is a trip to the former home of the SA Open from 12-13 November to play against a field of champions, and the chance to become the 2018 Champion of Champions.

While all divisions will be keenly contested, the Men’s A division features a strong collection of promising juniors and grizzled veterans in defending champion Bertie Steenkamp (Northern Cape), Keelan van Wyk (Central Gauteng), Derek Scullard (KwaZulu-Natal), Elton James (Western Province), Gareth Petler (North West), Ru-Juan Lessingh (Mpumalanga), Patric Dowling (Gauteng North), Johan Geldenhuys (Limpopo), Daniel van Seumeren (Border), Ethan Smith (Boland), Dawie Labuschagne (Free State) and Malan Potgieter (Eastern Province).

The Women’s A Division is also likely to be hotly contested, with up-and-coming amateurs including defending champion Caitlyn Macnab (Ekurhuleni), Vicki Traut (Western Province), Eleanora Galletti (Central Gauteng), Brittany-Faye Berger (KwaZulu-Natal), Chante Boonstra (Mpumalanga), Demi Flanagan (Border) and Gina da Silva (Gauteng North) in the mix.

The 2018 Champion of Champions event is a GolfRSA initiative that launched in 2017 with great success. 2017 winners included Bertie Steenkamp (Men’s A Division), Caitlyn Macnab (Ladies Silver Division), Johan Brand (Men’s B Division), Antoinette Human (Ladies Bronze Division) and Tyron Rees (Men’s C Division).

You can follow live scoring on