Border celebrates back-to-back success

– Border mounted a spirited final round assault to claim the B-Section title for a second successive year in the 55th South African Women’s Inter-Provincial Championship at Centurion Country Club on Friday.

Border defeated Eastern Province 4.5 – 1.5 to celebrate their second podium finish this season after the same team staged a come-from-behind performance to lift the B-Section title in the 72-Hole Teams Championship at East London Golf Club in May.

The defending champions were on the back foot after a 4 – 2 first round loss to Free State, but turned the tide with a near clean sweep against North West in round two.

Border trailed Free State and Eastern Province by one point ahead of the final round, but had 7.5 games points in hand after giving North West 5.5 – 0.5 hiding.

Free State, with seven games points, faced off against North West, while Border went head-to-head with neighbours Eastern Province, who brought 6.5 games points into the final round.

Demi Flanagan and Zethu Myeki put Border in the early lead with a 2 & 1 win in the foursomes, while Siviwe and Yolanda Duma looked good to add another point.

The Duma sisters won the 16th hole to go 1-up, Jamie-Lee Daniels and Shene du Toit won the next hole to square the game. They halved the 18th, giving Border a slight lead at 1.5 – 0.5 hole heading into the singles.

Yolanda Duma claimed first blood for Border when she whipped Justine Botten 7 & 6.

Demi Flanagan padded the lead when she defeated Jamie-Lee Daniels 3 & 2 and Siviwe Duma secured the victory for Border when she downed Du Toit lost 3 & 2.

Minette Olivier won the last four holes to beat Zethu Myeki in the final game.

North West defeated Free State 3.5 – 2.5, but it was too little, too late.

Border topped the log with four points, while Free State edged out Eastern Province for second place on game points. Free State finished with 9.5 game points and Eastern Province with eight.

Southern Cape completed an undefeated run at the top of the Division 2 standings after defeating Mpumalanga 5 – 1, while Western Province B and Limpopo drew 3-all in the final round.

(Pos-Union-Played-Won-Drawn-Lost-Points-Matches won)
1 Border (3, 2, 0, 1, 4, 12.0)
2 Free State (3, 1, 1, 1, 3, 9.5)
3 Eastern Province (3, 1, 1, 1, 3, 8.0)
4 North West (3, 1, 0, 2, 2, 6.5)

(Pos-Union-Played-Won-Drawn-Lost-Points-Matches won)
1 Southern Cape (3, 3, 0, 0, 6, 13.0)
2 Limpopo (3, 1, 1, 1, 3, 9.5)
3 Western Province B (3, 1, 1, 1, 3, 8.5)
4 Mpumalanga (3, 0, 0, 3, 0, 5.0)

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of Womens Golf South Africa.

Posted in