Blaauw steers Tuks into early lead at USSA Champs

For a second year running, Reinhardt Blaauw gave the University of Pretoria an early boost as Tuks for their title defence at the annual University Sport South Africa (USSA) Championships underway at Port Shepstone Golf Club on Monday.

Blaauw, who took the Individual honours in the 36-hole Stroke Play qualifier last year, fired a blistering five-under-par 67 and combined with Marco Loubser (72) and Ryan Lane (73) to steer the Tuks 1 to the top of the Stroke Play qualifier standings on 212.

ABW van Zyl from Central University of Technology Free State and Stefan Wears-Taylor from North West University – Pukke 1 carded a pair of 69s to tie for second in the Individual standings.

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University 1 took second after Colin Baldie, Johannes Brophy and Michael Maybery partnered to a 217 with respective rounds of 72, 72 and 73.

Christian Rossouw and Phillip Swanepoel returned 71s, while Riaan Schmuliaan added a 76 to help the University of Stellenbosch 1 to third on 218.

The seeding for the Inter-Institutional Match Play Championship, starting on Wednesday, follows at the end of Tuesday’s second round. The match play stage will be contested in four divisions of eight teams each, with the teams finishing in the top eight positions qualifying for the A-Division.

67 Reinhardt Blaauw
69 ABW van Zyl; Stefan Wears-Taylor
70 Clayton Mansfield
71 Christiaan Rossouw, Phillip Swanepoel
72 Colin Baldie, Johannes Brophy, Francois Kruger, Marco Loubser
73 Jay-Jay Botha, Ryan Lane, Michael Maybery, Chabala Mbao, Riaan Swart
74 Timothy Banks, Chadd Drake, Wihan Kleyn, DP van Zyl
75 David Nortje, Andrew Plint, Michael Ryan

212 University of Pretoria 1
217 Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
218 University of Stellenbosch 1
220 Central University of Technology Free State
221 Varsity College 1
222 North West University Pukke 1
224 North West University Pukke 2
226 University of Pretoria 2
227 Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University 2
230 Rhodes University 1, Rhodes University 2
235 University of Cape Town 1
236 Cape Peninsula University of Technology 1
237 Varsity College 2
238 Centurion Academy 1
242 University of Johannesburg 2
243 University of Johannesburg 1
244 University of Stellenbosch 2
251 University of Cape Town 2
254 North West University Vaal
255 Cape Peninsula University of Technology 2
261 University of Zululand

Written and released by Lali Stander on behalf of the USSA Championship and the South African Golf Association.

Posted in