Australia Set The Pace


Tyrone FerreiraRohan Blizard, of Australia, set a course record equaling 63, eight under par, in the first round of the Copa Juan Carlos Tailhade Amateur Stroke Play tournament taking place at the Los Lagartos Country Club in Buenos Aires.

Leading the international team competition, two players from the same country to a team, is the Australian pairing of Blizard, the current Australian amateur champion, Tim Stewart. Relative to his playing partner, Stewart struggled recording a 75, twelve shots behind his team mate.

The South African pairing of Louis de Jager (74) and Tyrone Ferreira (70) were off the pace in the individual competition but were in the hunt on the team competition recording a score of 144, six shots off the pace set by the Australian pairing.

Second round is played today.

First Round Results:

Venue: Los Lagartos C.C., Buenos Aires, Argentina (Par 71)

Individual Standings:

63 Rohan Blizard (AUS)
66 Bernardo Bide (ARG), Justin Roach (AUS)
68 Juan Francisco Sarasti (ESP)
70 Alfredo Baertl (PERU), Emiliano Grillo (ARG), Leandro Marletta (ARG), Pablo Lozada (ARG), Tyrone Ferreira (RSA)
71 Andrew Searle (NZL), Kevin Smith (NZL), Esteban Martinez (ARG), Chris Wood (ENG), Mathieu Rivard (CAN).

Other Scores:

74 Louis de Jager (RSA), Johan du Buisson (RSA)
77 Ruan Botha (RSA)

Team Competition:

Leading Scores

138 (-6) Australia (Rohan Blizard 63, Tim Stewart 75)
142 (L) New Zealand (Andrew Searle 71, Kevin Smith 71), Spain (Juan Francisco Sarasti 68, Borja Etchart 74)
143 (+1) England (Chris Wood 71, Sam Hutsby 72)
144 (+2) Colombia (Edgar Gomez Moreno 72, Carlos Rodriguez M 72), Argentina (Esteban Martinez 71, Julian Etulain 73), South Africa (Tyrone Ferreira 70, Louis de Jager 74)

For further information please contact:

Bruce Younge (SAGA Executive Director) Cell: 082 574 3455

Written and distributed by:

Nic Lanham Cell: 082 990 6067 e-mail:

Posted in