Another Theron victory – this time Carina Theron wins Senior Ladies Champs

Former Free State and Northern Cape President Carina Theron won the 2011 Senior Ladies Championship by 10 strokes from Mpumalanga’s Melrise Ungerer when the event was played in June at Woodhill and Wingate Park Country Clubs.

Theron finished the 36 hole tournament on 163 (79, 84) while Ungerer returned scores of 83 and 90 (173) to pick up the runner-up prize. Gauteng’s Engela van Dyk won the stableford competition on 65 points (29,36) with Western Province’s Dot Gurney in second position on 64 points (32, 32).

172 Senior Ladies braved the ivy, windy conditions but nevertheless enjoyed this annual get-together with golfing friends and former provincial opponents.

The 2012 SA Senior Ladies Championship will be played in the Western Province at Rondebosch and Mowbray Golf Clubs, and the newly elected President is Rondebosch’s Pippa Griffiths.

Posted in