Month: April 2013

Nicole Garcia wins the 2013 Free State and Northern Cape Championship

Nicole Garcia

Playing almost perfect golf, Nicole Garcia birdies the final hole to take the trophy.... read more

Read More

SA team still Africa Zone VI champions

South Africa successfully defended their Africa Zone VI Golf Championship title with another dominating performance in the final round singles at Windhoek Golf and Country Club on Thursday.

The SA team claimed the full eight points on offer after a clean sweep in the first round singles, and took a 2.5 point lead on 15.5 into the final round after winning all four morning foursomes matches, three afternoon fourball matches and halving one fourball in round two.

South Africa continued their winning run with seven single victories and another halve to finish on a total of 23 points. The local heroes finished four points clear of Zimbabwe in second and eight points ahead of the host nation in third place. This marks the 13th time South Africa has lifted the title of Africa’s largest team event since the inaugural it was launched in 2000

Read More

SA team on track for Africa Zone VI defence

South Africa kept their title defence at the Africa Zone VI Golf Championships alive with another commanding performance in Wednesday’s second round at Windhoek Golf and Country Club.

After a clean sweep in the first round singles, the eight-man side cleaned up with four wins in the morning foursomes and added three more victories in the afternoon fourballs. Gerlou Roux and Louis Taylor had to fend off a spirited challenge from their Namibian rivals in the foursomes, but the South African pair hung on to halve their game with P. Barnard and B. Britten to contribute to the team’s 2.5 point lead in the championship.

Read More

SA team off to solid start at Africa Zone VI

South Africa got their title defence off with a clean sweep in the first round of the Africa Zone VI Golf Championships at Windhoek Golf and Country Club on Tuesday. All eight players hit a winning note, including new caps Thriston Lawrence from Mpumalanga, Eddie Taylor from Central Gauteng and Southern Cape’s Andrew Light.

The South African team are chasing the country’s 13th victory in the annual African team event since it was launched in 2000. In addition to the defending champions and the host nation, this year’s Africa Zone VI Golf Championships has attracted entries from Malawi, Botswana, Uganda, Kenya, Zimbabwe, Swaziland, Zambia and Mozambique.

Read More

Kim wins Jackie Mercer Trophy at SA Woman’s Open

Kim Williams, the leading amateur in the first round was playing solidly in the awful conditions on Sunday, and had in fact crept up the leader board on Sunday and was among the top 10 when play was finally suspended. This is her second win of the coveted Jackie Mercer Trophy.

Read More

SA team geared for Zone VI defence

South Africa will launch their Africa Zone VI Golf Championships title defence at Windhoek Golf and Country Club on Tuesday following a successful campaign in the 30th Bank Windhoek Namibia Open Golf Championships on the weekend.

Since the 54-hole event was played at the same venue, the eight-man South African side made good use of their participation in the curtain-raiser to prepare for the upcoming annual African team event. Zander Lombard, the country’s number two ranked player, edged out countryman Louis Taylor in a play-off to lift the overall title, while Taylor and compatriots Gerlou Roux, Tertius van den Berg and Andrew Light all won individual prizes.

Read More

SA Woman’s Open reduced to 36 holes

Heavy rains and a waterlogged Southbroom golf course resulted in the SA Women's Open being reduced to 36 more

Read More

Gauteng North and North West victorious at SA U23 IPT

Gauteng North was in ascendancy once more as they mowed down Limpopo 11.5 to 0.5 to claim the South African U23 Inter Provincial, while the North West province held off a charging KwaZulu-Natal to claim B-Section promotion at Nelspruit Golf Club on Friday.

Read More

North West and KZN in epic battle for SA U23 IPT promotion

Gauteng North held on to their A-Division lead despite a fourth round draw, but the battle for promotion in the B-Division will come down to a titanic battle between North West and KwaZulu-Natal at the South African U23 Inter-Provincial on Friday.

Destined to meet in Friday’s final round, one thing is certain: one team will celebrate promotion, the other will have to nurse their wounds. And it is bound to be an epic battle that will go down to the wire. Both sides have seven points, but North West has just the slightest edge - half a game point for the lead on 30.5 games to 30.

Read More

WP moves on day three of SA U23 IPT

Western Province defeated Southern Cape to edge into third place as Gauteng North strengthened their position at the top of the A-Section log in Wednesday’s third round of the South African U23 Inter-Provincial at Nelspruit Golf Club.

Province and Southern Cape were squared at 2-all after the foursomes, but halves from AB Price and Robert Bougas and victories Marlon Swarts, Josh de Klerk, Ian Snyman and Alex Jordon handed Province a 7-5 victory.

Read More