Month: October 2008

Blair wins US Collegiate Tournament

Darren BlairDarren Blair, playing for the University of North Carolina, won the Bank of Tennessee @ The Ridges on Saturday, five shots clear of the field.

Read More

Benoni & East London to host Glacier SA Amateur

Anton Raath, CEO of Glacier by SanlamSouth African Golf Association's (SAGA) premier competition, Glacier SA Amateur Championship, is scheduled to be staged at Benoni Country Club and East London Golf Club in 2009 and 2010 respectively, it was announced today.

Read More

SA finish 11th at World Amateur Team Championship

Dylan Frittelli, finished 10th in individual competitionSouth African amateur golf team finished 11th, along with two other teams, on conclusion of the Eisenhower Trophy, this being the country's best performance since 1998.

Read More

Central Gauteng and Ekurhuleni win

A Section winners Central GautengCentral Gauteng won the South African Mid Amateur Inter Provincial, ending the only team undefeated in the A Section.

Read More

Another steady day for SA at WATC in Adelaide

Dylan Frittelli in AustraliaSouth Africa held onto 10th position, on the team leader board, with their second consecutive round of level par, after the third round of 2008 Eisenhower Trophy being played in Adelaide, Australia.

Read More

SA’s Eisenhower Team still on track

SA's WATC Team from left Enver Hassen, Dylan Frittelli, Cameron Johnston and Jacques BlaauwSouth Africa finished their second round where they started, on three under par, keeping them on track to achieve their objective of a top ten finish in the 2008 Eisenhower Trophy, in World Amateur Team Championship, being played in Adelaide, Australia.

Read More

Good start for SA’s Eisenhower Team

Jacques BlaauwSouth Africa are tied in sixth place, at three under par, with New Zealand, after the conclusion of the first round of the Eisenhower Trophy. "Happy with our first day's performance," is how team captain Enver Hassen summed up the day.

Read More

Top 10 finish – Eisenhower Team objective

From left Cameron Johnston and Jacques BlaauwThe South African amateur golf team competing in the 72 hole Eisenhower Trophy, which commences tomorrow, will be looking finish in the top ten, according to team captain Enver Hassen.

Read More

Mid-Amateur Inter Provincial at Roodepoort ready to get underway

Roodepoort Country Club - Host of the 2008 Mid Amateur IPTToday saw all ten Mid-Amateur Provincial teams having their final practice rounds at Roodepoort Country Club before the tournament gets underway tomorrow morning at 7am.

Results Website

Read More

Sweden wins 2008 Women’s World Amateur Championship

Swedish Ladies Team - 2008 WATC WinnersAdelaide, Australia (11 October) - Sweden held the lead from the start to finish to capture the Espirito Santo Trophy and win the 2008 Women's World Amateur Team Championship by 12 strokes over Spain and 14 over the USA at The Grange Golf Club's East and West courses.

Read More

SA’s Eisenhower Trophy team departs for Australia

Blaauw receiving his Titleist team kitThe South African amateur golf team, which includes, Cameron Johnston, Jacques Blaauw and non playing team captain Enver Hassen, departed for Adelaide, Australia yesterday to play in amateur golf's most prestigious competition, the Eisenhower Trophy.

Read More

Bester takes Ekurhuleni Open Title

Bester - Mark Burgess Ekurhuleni Open Winner 2008Coenie Bester of Mpumalanga led at the end of every day's play at the "Mark Burgess" Ekurhuleni Open held at the Ebotse Golf and Country Estate over the weekend.

"Mark Burgess" Ekurhuleni Open Results

Read More